Enjoy the Silence

“It is only when we silent the blaring sounds of our daily existence that we can finally hear the whispers of truth that life reveals to us, as it stands knocking on the doorsteps of our hearts.”  ~~ K.T. Jong


The Sahasrara (Crown) Chakra is the seventh and final Chakra, and is located at the crown of the head. It is associated with divine wisdom and enlightenment, and with being one with the world. It is associated with the color violet or white. Some say its associated element thought, some say it’s cosmic energy. The associated body parts are the brain, the right eye, the pituitary gland and pineal gland.

Those who are strong and balanced in this chakra are very wise and are seen as spiritual leaders. They are able to understand and learn new information very easily. They are seen as humanitarians, thoughtful and open-minded.

Those who are overactive in this chakra tend to be impractical and not connected to reality.

Those who are depleted in this chakra tend to be uninspired, feel misunderstood and are in a constant state of self-denial. They are disconnected with life itself.

An imbalance in this chakra, in either direction, is thought to contribute to such issues as Alzheimer’s, depression, dizziness, epilepsy, certain autoimmune disorders (i.e., Multiple Sclerosis), paralysis, certain mental illnesses (i.e., schizophrenia and multiple personality disorder), immune system disorders, nervous system disorders (i.e., Parkinson’s Disease), learning disorders or difficulties, headaches (including migraines), and insomnia.

To balance this chakra, it is important to include meditation, as it is wonderful at helping to cleanse a busy mind. Strive to include some meditation every single day…even if you only have time for 5 minutes, it will help. If you can stop the busyness of your mind, and find the silence within, you’ll be AMAZED at how many truths are uncovered for you all of a sudden. I know that for me, since I started incorporating meditation into my own practice regularly, I feel a  huge difference. I definitely feel more spiritual, more connected with God, and I feel like I’ve come a long way into figuring out what my purpose in life really is. It’s a very freeing feeling, let me tell you!

From a physical standpoint, inversions (like Shoulder Stand), Fish Pose and Lotus Pose are great asanas to incorporate into your practice for this chakra. We will be including some of these poses in class this week, so I hope to see you on the mat!



Categories Yoga

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close